lavc: Clarify the behaviour of dimension and format context fields
authorLuca Barbato <lu_zero@gentoo.org>
Sun, 14 Jun 2015 09:45:54 +0000 (11:45 +0200)
committerLuca Barbato <lu_zero@gentoo.org>
Mon, 15 Jun 2015 11:39:07 +0000 (13:39 +0200)
commit9af7e8045e3e63ab39adedae9a7c11b1c410af26
tree728dce5a6ebc63b5af09b190e79fd55d155f51ff
parent03ca6d70df192125a772dadd01acfe3905aa653f
lavc: Clarify the behaviour of dimension and format context fields

The AVCodecContext width, height, coded_width, coded_height and format
are used mainly as decoding hints and they get internally overwritten
during the data parsing stage.

Do not assume they match the last AVFrame provided by
avcodec_decode_video2 and assimilated functions since multi-threading
and other frame reordering might make those values to refer to frames
that will be outputted in the future.

CC: libav-stable@libav.org
libavcodec/avcodec.h