lavc: document that avcodec_close() should not be used
authorAnton Khirnov <anton@khirnov.net>
Sat, 21 May 2016 10:05:38 +0000 (12:05 +0200)
committerAnton Khirnov <anton@khirnov.net>
Mon, 23 May 2016 04:46:18 +0000 (06:46 +0200)
We cannot deprecate it until the new parser API is in place, because of
the way libavformat works. But the majority of the users can already
simply replace it with avcodec_free_context(), which will simplify the
transition once it is finally deprecated.

libavcodec/avcodec.h

index 24cf39f..dc6649a 100644 (file)
@@ -3756,6 +3756,11 @@ int avcodec_open2(AVCodecContext *avctx, const AVCodec *codec, AVDictionary **op
  * Calling this function on an AVCodecContext that hasn't been opened will free
  * the codec-specific data allocated in avcodec_alloc_context3() with a non-NULL
  * codec. Subsequent calls will do nothing.
+ *
+ * @note Do not use this function. Use avcodec_free_context() to destroy a
+ * codec context (either open or closed). Opening and closing a codec context
+ * multiple times is not supported anymore -- use multiple codec contexts
+ * instead.
  */
 int avcodec_close(AVCodecContext *avctx);