libavcodec: Clarify the documentation of the internal codec capability flags
authorMartin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
Thu, 2 Apr 2015 12:17:01 +0000 (15:17 +0300)
committerMartin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
Sun, 5 Apr 2015 17:47:50 +0000 (20:47 +0300)
The previous documentation was very vague and almost misleading.

Signed-off-by: Martin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
libavcodec/internal.h

index a681329..5aa7712 100644 (file)
 #include "config.h"
 
 /**
- * Codec is thread safe.
+ * The codec does not modify any global variables in the init function,
+ * allowing to call the init function without locking any global mutexes.
  */
 #define FF_CODEC_CAP_INIT_THREADSAFE        (1 << 0)
 /**
- * Codec cleans up memory on init failure.
+ * The codec allows calling the close function for deallocation even if
+ * the init function returned a failure. Without this capability flag, a
+ * codec does such cleanup internally when returning failures from the
+ * init function and does not expect the close function to be called at
+ * all.
  */
 #define FF_CODEC_CAP_INIT_CLEANUP           (1 << 1)