bitstream: Avoid undefined behavior in bitstream_skip()
authorLuca Barbato <lu_zero@gentoo.org>
Sat, 8 Jul 2017 19:04:44 +0000 (21:04 +0200)
committerLuca Barbato <lu_zero@gentoo.org>
Sun, 9 Jul 2017 10:56:15 +0000 (12:56 +0200)
Do not use skip_remaining() to fully wipe the cache, as this could do
a 64-bit shift of a 64-bit variable which is undefined behavior in C.
Instead set the related variables to zero directly.

Thanks to Uoti for pointing out the problem.

CC: libav-stable@libav.org
libavcodec/bitstream.h

index d6dd2b9..1b23cb2 100644 (file)
@@ -239,11 +239,13 @@ static inline void skip_remaining(BitstreamContext *bc, unsigned n)
 /* Skip n bits in the buffer. */
 static inline void bitstream_skip(BitstreamContext *bc, unsigned n)
 {
-    if (n <= bc->bits_left)
+    if (n < bc->bits_left)
         skip_remaining(bc, n);
     else {
         n -= bc->bits_left;
-        skip_remaining(bc, bc->bits_left);
+        bc->bits      = 0;
+        bc->bits_left = 0;
+
         if (n >= 64) {
             unsigned skip = n / 8;