avconv: make sure packets put into the muxing FIFO are refcounted
authorwm4 <nfxjfg@googlemail.com>
Wed, 8 Feb 2017 08:53:26 +0000 (09:53 +0100)
committerMartin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
Wed, 1 Aug 2018 06:55:34 +0000 (09:55 +0300)
Some callers (like do_subtitle_out(), or do_streamcopy()) call this
with an AVPacket that is not refcounted. This can cause undefined
behavior.

Calling av_packet_move_ref() does not make a packet refcounted if it
isn't yet. (And it can't be made to, because it always succeeds,
and can't return ENOMEM.)

Call av_packet_ref() instead to make sure it's refcounted.

Cc: libav-stable@libav.org
Signed-off-by: Martin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
avtools/avconv.c

index ac15464..3abb7f8 100644 (file)
@@ -281,7 +281,7 @@ static void write_packet(OutputFile *of, AVPacket *pkt, OutputStream *ost)
     int ret;
 
     if (!of->header_written) {
-        AVPacket tmp_pkt;
+        AVPacket tmp_pkt = {0};
         /* the muxer is not initialized yet, buffer the packet */
         if (!av_fifo_space(ost->muxing_queue)) {
             int new_size = FFMIN(2 * av_fifo_size(ost->muxing_queue),
@@ -296,8 +296,11 @@ static void write_packet(OutputFile *of, AVPacket *pkt, OutputStream *ost)
             if (ret < 0)
                 exit_program(1);
         }
-        av_packet_move_ref(&tmp_pkt, pkt);
+        ret = av_packet_ref(&tmp_pkt, pkt);
+        if (ret < 0)
+            exit_program(1);
         av_fifo_generic_write(ost->muxing_queue, &tmp_pkt, sizeof(tmp_pkt), NULL);
+        av_packet_unref(pkt);
         return;
     }